Welcome to Division of Equity and Social Justice

Our Mission

The mission of the County of Santa Clara is to plan for the needs of a dynamic community, provide quality services, and promote a healthy, safe, and prosperous community for all.

Our Vision

A County government that incorporates diversity, equity, and belonging into all aspects of our work to help achieve our organizational mission through fair and just governmental processes, equitable distribution of resources, and power to improve outcomes for all.

Core Values

Pen writing in book icon

Change the Narrative
Normalize conversations to advance equity in government.

A lit up lightbulb with leaf shapes in its center


Subject Matter Expertise
Foster accountability and effective leadership across the Division to advance DESJ priorities.

Hand surrounding people icon


Transformational Change
Transform systems, structures, and policies that perpetuate inequality.

People linked in a circle with sprouting leaves in their center


Partnerships and Community Engagement
Cultivate partnerships for collective impact.

A magnifying glass examining a document


Policy Analysis
Improve public policy and management through research and evaluation.

A magnifying glass examining charts and graphs


Data, Evaluation, and Accountability
Build accessible data infrastructures and identify solutions to improve equity.

Our Offices

Situated in the County Executive's Office, our offices center children, women, workers, immigrants, LGBTQ+ people, individuals with Limited English Proficiency, individuals with disabilities, Black, Indigenous, and People of Color, and the historically underserved.

Division Highlights

Contact Us

2460 N First Street
San Jose, CA 95131

Email: [email protected]

Map of
Mode of transportation

©2023 County of Santa Clara. All rights reserved.